Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I plan on doing some long distance rides/geocaching before summer is over so I'm in the market for a gps system. I have never owned one and was wondering which models you guys use and what their pros/cons are. I've done a couple of searches and it seems that the Garmin Nuvii 255WT is a popular choice and has an easy set up with some ram mount parts. I was leaning toward this one but was wanting to hear some other input on this model and others. I know it's not water-resistant, but other than that it seems pretty solid.

I guess what I'm looking for is something with:

Decent battery life
Water resistant (if possible)
Easy to see and use (gauntlet friendly haha)
Less than $200

Any input you guys have is much appreciated. Feel free to include any special features I should look out for/must have. Like I said, I'm a complete noob when it comes to GPS systems lol

·
Premium Member
15,937 Posts
You can't go wrong with a Garmin GPS. Battery doesn't have to be a concern since you can wire the GPS to your battery.

Whichever model you choose make sure you can enter GPS location coordinates.

You should also look for a model that includes lifetime map updates for free.

Keep an eye on websites like www.dealnews.com for great deals on GPS units.

BTW Ram Mounts are awesome! You can also place the GPS unit in a tank bag with a see thur top window.

There are GPS units made for motorcyclists but they are very expensive. Like the Garmin Zumo line.

:)

·
Registered
63 Posts
Where can you get a ram mount?

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks newbie. That dealnews site is actually pretty sweet!

·
Premium Member
15,937 Posts
Thanks newbie. That dealnews site is actually pretty sweet!
Yeah it is! I use it all the time, plus you can setup an email notification when a deal comes up for a GPS. That way you won't miss a good deal.

:)

·
Registered