Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey im new to all this stuff........ I've been riding dirtbikes as a kid but now on a o5 636 and a buddy of mine has a 07 gsxr-750 and talks shit about him smoking my bike.... i raced him and hes not much faster. how can i do some mods that with make my bike just as quick if not quicker off the line and down the quarter mile witihout turbos or major engine work? please help

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
hey im new to all this stuff........ I've been riding dirtbikes as a kid but now on a o5 636 and a buddy of mine has a 07 gsxr-750 and talks shit about him smoking my bike.... i raced him and hes not much faster. how can i do some mods that with make my bike just as quick if not quicker off the line and down the quarter mile witihout turbos or major engine work? please help
Do the jumper mod if you haven't already as well as regear the bike. -1, +4 should get you where you need to be for the 1/4. Get a strap for the front forks to keep the wheelies under control but, biggest advantage in 1/4 mile from a dead stop is the rider. It is all in the launch and learning to slide the clutch. I have run quite a few less experienced riders on 750s even 1000s and beat them just because they can't get off the line. If this 1/4 mile run is at an actual drag strip, make sure you get as much practice as you can on that surface because it is a bit different from launching at the street with the extra grip from the traction compound. Check out the drag section on this forum for some more feedback though.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Loose some weight

About 1 HP gain per each 8 lbs lost, so lay off the candy bars!:D

Seriously, do the jumper mod, add a couple teeth to the rear sprocket, get a pipe, a power commander, K&N filter, and your about as far as you can go. Pretty obvious stuff I guess. Is it worth the $ to shut him up?

·
Registered
1,672 Posts