Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Premium Member
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and wanted to say hello. I just took the MSF course two weekends ago and have since ridden 100 miles. I'm new to motorcycling and love it so far. I've read "Proficient Motorcycling - The Ultimate Guide to Riding Well", and watched "Twist the Wrist II" prior to the course. I've also been reading many blogs and magazine publications. I think I have a fair understanding of what I should be doing as I continue to develop my skills, but there is one area I'm having difficulty with.

When I counter-steer at speeds around 55mph (the speed limit in the country where I live), I feel like I can't get the bike low enough to take some of the sharper bends at speed. I end up slowing down before the turn like I learned in class and taking it at a more 'comfortable' speed, accelerating through the turn. I'm hugging the gas tank with my knees, while leaning with the bike, pushing on the inside handlebar (right bar to go right, left bar to go left) as I'm turning. My head may lean in towards the inside mirror as well. It just feels like the bike doesn't want to lean and I've pushed as far as I can go (or I'm afraid to push any more). Am I missing something? :confused: Should I be throwing more weight around to lean the bike over further? Should I be flicking the steering for a quicker lean? (I'm a little scared to do that) Should I lean off the bike like the racers do (half a cheek)? I don't want to 'race', I just want to commute obeying speed limits. Turning at 35-40mph is becoming natural, but the higher speeds still cause concern. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

· Get off of my lawn Dammit
46,945 Posts