Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all,

Name is Brett and I'm just getting into riding. I traded my Civic for a 2001 ZX-6R and am still getting the feel for it.

I ordered some frame sliders from Pro-Tek, but can't figure out how to install them. Or rather, where. They say they don't require cutting of the fairings and simply "remove the screw from upper fairing and replace it with the frame slider and screw."

Now, the upper fairing is the front fairing that wraps around the headlights, correct? Well I can't even find any frame under that to attach it to. I tried looking for any holes where the side fairings go (I don't have side fairings yet) but I can't find a spot for them either. Anyone know where these things actually install at? A picture would be amazing. I can't find a single one.

Another questions I have is regarding coolant. I think my bike is a little low but am not sure. I know the radiator needs to be full, but do I simply open the cap when the bike is cool and fill it all the way up until I can't fit anymore coolant in? I don't want to break anything.

Lastly, what are acceptable temps for this bike? I live in AZ so it's always rather hot, but I seem to constantly get temps in the 215-230 range. I just want to make sure these are acceptable. Oh, and FYI, the fan usually kicks on around 218F.

Thanks tons in advance. I'll be checking back here frequently to see if you lovely folks had a chance to answer these questions yet =D

-Brett

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks a lot for the pic. Absolutely beautiful bike. I'll have to take another peak at my bike and see where that actually is. I don't have side fairings so it looks quite a bit different. From the pic it looks like they mount just below the fuel tank. I'll pay that area some more attention. Thanks again.

Anyone else have any advise / pics, or can answer more about the temps etc?