Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm a newbie. I recently got my motorcycle license from the DMV. And I'm looking into the Ninja 650R, preferably 09-11. I've already taken the MSF course and passed with no complications. My weakest point was the figure 8's but everything else was fine.
Reasons for Ninja 650 vice a 300 or a 250. I plan on doing mostly highway commuting, to and from work and visiting family which also is an hr on the interstate. I want to buy a bike, I will keep for a long time, and not trade it for lack of power. I like the ergos and the stance of the 650. I'm 5'9 about 200 pounds with 30-32 in seam. I'm not concerned about speed because in my car, I rarely go over 80mph.
Some mods and accessories I plan on getting once I find a 650R.
Frame Sliders, no cut.
Fender Eliminator
Tank Pad
TanK Bag
Just wondering if there's anything else I should be looking for, for comfort or making it bearable at highway speeds.

I already have a Helmet and Gloves, looking to purchase a Jacket soon.
I plan to ride all season long, with the exception of snow, or below freezing days. I live about an hr north of NYC.​

·
Registered
6,000 Posts
I would also be looking at:

1. motorcycle boots.

2. a better seat.

3. kevlar lined jeans.

4. dirt bike knee and shin armor to go under your jeans.

5. a better back protector for your jacket.

6. a taller windscreen.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Also get foul weather gear (raincoat/balaklava), heated jacket or liner and heated gloves like Gerbings for those nice, snowless chilly riding days. I'm from North Joisey and work in NYC. I ride all winter. On snow days, bus and subway is it. Enjoy your coming ride and do it safely.

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4