Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. My name is Brandon and I am a newbie to motorcycle riding. I just finished my msf course. I was wondering is a Ninja ZX6R could function as a beginner bike. I am about 5'11" and 148lbs.

GOT STOPPIES?

·
Registered
55 Posts
It is probably one of the better 600's to start on besides the Suzuki SV650 or the Honda F3 if you must start on a 600. Just never exceed your abilities on it and remember that it is a powerful bike for a beginner.
Good luck. :)
Oh, and wear gear!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the tip Amita. Even though I am a newbie, my brother let me ride his CBR 600 F2 a few times. I felt comfortable on that bike so I think I will get the ZX6R. Oh yeah, I will not be doing crazy stuff until I have enough riding experience so you don't have to worry.

GOT STOPPIES?

·
Registered
147 Posts
zx-6r was my first bike and i still think it was an excellent choice for a first bike. as long as you respect it's power and don't get crazy until you are used to it, you will be fine. nice thing is, after you start getting better, you'll have plenty more bike to mess with then if you started on say a 500 or lower...

billy m.
1998 ZX6R
WTF is a Gixxer?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the help everybody. I appreciate all of the information. Especially to localbar. That website had a lot of useful information. I think that I am going to stick with the Ninja ZX6R. Should have it in about two weeks. I am buying a used 1995 model. Will post pics once I have the bike.

GOT STOPPIES?

·
Registered
778 Posts
Thats a great move, buy used and learn, this way if you happen to make a mistake its not as hard on you as it would be if you bought a 2002.

And you can get a great deal on a 1995.