Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sorry for the new post.
i have a VERY important ? to ask. well to make the story short, parents have rode bikes a long time. dad is cool just not the part of a big city. mom is a ball of nerves. i am 15 and i have been rideing for 8 years. can get a full liciense in TX and i dont understand why they wont get me one. i have ran the part abot the MSF and the 250cc's and i even offered to pay notes! does anybody have a sugustion about what i should do?

·
Registered
126 Posts
wait till your 18 and get one anyway. till then your parents own you and you should do what the say. start out by driving a car on the roads. even if your bike abilities are good you have no experience on the road and should get that out of the way in a 3000 pound sled with airbags

and if your wondering im not some old fart either, im 23 and felt the same way you do when i was 16 but now looking back i realise it was the right thing to do

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
yeah. i agree. i'm 26 and i didn't start riding on the street until i was 23, but if i were you, i would definitely learn to drive the car first. negotiating traffic (esp. with all the crazy people out there eating pancakes and reading the morning paper while they drive) can be a lot trickier than slamming down some laps on a motocross track.

i don't know about where you're at, but here in ohio the msf class is free if you are under the age of 18 and you get priority to choose what class you want, etc. if i were your parent, i would be much more swayed to consider letting you get a streetbike if you took the msf class. that would show me you are serious.