Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got an issue with my 98 as well. Anything from about 1000 to 3500 rpm causes my bike to buck... this only happens on light throttle. If I try to accelerate from a low speed in first, unitil about 4000 rpm's the bike boggs, and bucks... as soon as I get above 4000 rpms the bike comes to life and works perfectly. I have also done a tune up which did not correct this concern.

As far as the chain, in my opinion I would go for the high performance chain and spend the extra money. Chain failures terrify me.

·
Registered
65 Posts
I dont know enough to suggest what else you could try thewizard, but just as a point of reference my 95 zx6r pulls hard and smooth from as low as you like. Hell I can creep forward at idle (1100 rpm) just by letting the clutch out slowly. So you shouldnt have to put up with it.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I'm far from a mechanic so maybe you guys can help me out with a few questions/problems I have.

1) I have a 98' kawasaki 6r and Im not getting the performance I should be from my bike. Im having an acceleration issue that I know is not normal. Weird enough the acceleration issue only comes up when I'm between 0-3k rpms. I was guessing that maybe it was my carbs but my mechanic said that he adjusted the carbs and I shouldnt be having the issue again but its still happening.

2) When i'm down shifting sometimes when i press down the clutch and the brake my bike will turn off. Mostly when im going 80ish mph and have to slow down to about 20-30mph in a relatively short time. For example, like getting off the ramp on the expressway entering the city. NOTE: When I put up my idle this wont happen but if I put up my idle and start my bike my rpms go straight up to 5k.