Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a problem, my '01 ZX9 has been jetted and has an air box kit on it. The problem is I have noticed when I let it sit for a few days, when I fire it uo it pops out of the muffler like a backfire, I didn't think much about it till today when I had to kick over to reserve with only about 80 miles on a tank! So I figure gas is leaking past the jets in one or all of the carbs evaporating and what little don't evap, is backfiring through the can on startup. I have a great mechanical knowledge (rebuilt MANY Ford Mustang my other passion) but this is my first mechanical go-round with a bike and I kknow everything works the same but I have never worked on multiple carb systems before. I just dont wanna f*** anything up. I was thinking about running some carb cleaner through the gas to hopefully unstick something. Any suggestion?!?!?!?

·
Registered
1,905 Posts
The carb cleaner most likely wont help.

·
Registered
60 Posts
i have had this problem too but never figured out what it was I just look over it, but never had the gas problem thou(that i have notice always get about 140 before the reserve. Quick question on the air box kit did it improve anything? and how much would one cost? Oh and do you have picture
Originally posted by Red_ninja_9r