Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I have been riding for about 8 years and currently own a 2008 ZX-10R. I'm getting to the point where I don't see the need for super sport motorcycles on the street. They are just too twitchy and uncomfortable. And I am a 100% street rider. I was looking at the Ninja 650R and was just asking for some feedback from current owners. First off the bikes power, I figure it would be pretty linear being a twin. And the tune-ability of the suspension, do the forks need new internals. I weigh 190lbs so most bikes need suspension work that I ride, I also consider myself a pretty fast/aggressive canyon rider. Does the shock need re-sprung? Is the gearing long in the tooth ( tall gearing )? I've been looking at pics an see there is a decent aftermarket parts world for this bike as well. Feedback from current owners would be great, considering this is the largest 650R community I have found, oh and I would be purchasing the 09+ model.

·
Registered
529 Posts
The power band isnt as linear as you think, the bike actually produces a good amount of low end torque, the power seems to tapper off in the top end, not a whole lot of grunt over 100MPH. I hear the power commander really helps out with that, i will be installing mine this week. Handling could use some tuning. I would suggest you get some sport bars for it as well as upgrade the front forks, i believe the 636 forks can be a direct swap. The factory tires are nothing special, not even a super sport tire, more of a sport touring tire, so you would want to replace those as well. The seat can get a bit rough on long rides (100+ miles). Oh yeah replace the stock muffler, weighs about 32 lbs and is pretty restrictive. Also the stock mirrors vibrate a lot. I havent really looked into a way to fix those yet.