Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to all this track stuff. I have been hearing about Nesba and Wera. Do you have to be a member of these road racing orgs to go to the track or are these orgs just help you out at the track with classes and other things? Is anyone affiliated with either Nesba or Wera, what are the benefits of join either of them?

·
Registered
481 Posts
Those are two of the roadracing clubs. They require you to have a licensing school/clinic and a racing license before you may race with them. I don't know if WERA and NESBA run their own schools, or what school they'll take as credit for license clinic. Both NESBA and WERA have internet forums and websites that probably have information on how to get started racing with them (actually, I know WERA does, its WERA dot com).

There are trackday organizations, which would be the first place for many people to start on the track - they'll give you the basics of safety on the track and try to organize folks into groups of similarly-skilled riders, to help keep things safer. For less than $200, you might try one to see if the track is for you.

As in my signature below, I race with ASMA, in New Mexico, and AFM in Northern California, both regional organizations. WERA is national, I believe NESBA has "New England" in their name, and there's also CCS, which has regional affiliates - I'm not sure what the mid-Atlantic affiliate is named.

Other organizations exist, but are probably too far to travel from Virginia, until you get good and hooked on racing.

·
Registered
320 Posts
NESBA is a trackday organization , not a Racing organization.
They host trackdays.
WERA is a Racing organization , not a trackday organization.
They host races.

You DO NOT need a race license to ride with Nesba , but you do need a race license to race with WERA.