Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am moving to Florida to go to graduate school and am thinking bout selling my car and buying a used Ninja ZX6r. The question I have is this, the bike would be my only transportation (which I wouldn't mind at all) but it will be my primary means of gettin places. Is it feisable to only have a bike and no car?

thanks

·
Registered
3,112 Posts
If all I had to worry about was rain, I would've sold my car last year. But, since it snows here in KY for three months out of the year, it's out of the question for me.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah I've ridden in the rain before on my 250 which I am getting rid of and it isn't that bad. I've been riding on the 250 for like 2 years now and rode my friends EX500 and a Cruising type bike which is 700ccs. Rain is all that I'll have to worry about.

·
Registered
1,966 Posts
Dude, I have had a motorcycle as my only means of transportation for two years. And I live in New York! I had to buy a car recently and sell the bike, but only because I needed something I could throw all my sh*t in and drive out West, where I am moving in January. But trust me, if I could do it in NY, with the winter and everything, doing it in Florida should be no problem.

·
Premium Member
2,387 Posts
Think weather protection and cargo space as downers. Then think savings, (gas, time spent in traffic jams, insurance). and last but not least the babes:D unless you have a ferrari or something like that.

·
Registered
650 Posts
Well, as a native floridian and an employee of a motorcycle shop, it happens more then you think....and actually most of the kids with bikes as their main trnsportation are all school kids (college)......just be sure you find a good bike and keep up on the maintnence and you'll be just fine!!!!

·
Registered
940 Posts
My thoughts.....doable, not ideal.....fun, but not practicle

·