Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm Nym. I just joined and want to say up front I am a newbie when it comes to motorcycles in pretty much every way. My interest in bikes started two years ago and I've been doing research on and off since then. I've never ridden a motorcycle and have had pretty much zero opportunity to do so or talk to anyone who knows anything about them. I recently learned to drive stick on my grandfather's old beat up Toyota pickup, that's the only experience with manual transmission I've had. I've been driving a Toyota Prius for the past few years.

Now that I have some background out there here is my situation and what I'm looking for:
I have around a 8 mile commute to work 6 days a week that is in a not-too-busy town. The freeways around here don't usually go above 80mph. I am a 20 year old female, around 5' 7" and 110lbs. I'm looking at a Ninja 250 or 300. I'm looking for something simple and easy to ride for a beginner bike (easier to control for a lightweight gal) that will also serve me well if I decide to keep it in the long term; and have little interest in a bike with more power. I love the look of both bikes but am wondering which will be better for what I am looking for. I'm not necessarily looking for more cc's, but am wondering if the slipper clutch, fuel injection and extra's on the 300 is worth the extra money? I've heard different answers to this while perusing through different forums and reddit posts. I like the streamline appearance of the 300's dash and the idea of the fuel injection and extra room to grow but hearing my situation would like the opinion of someone with experience. Is there a substantial difference in mileage or anything else I should take into consideration? I figure I will look at craigslist or facebook market place for my first bike, would also like any tips on what to look for when buying used.