Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, its about time I get serious about my desire to re-paint the 636.

As I am on a tight budget, its going to be a rattle can job.
I have no prior experience with painting anything.

Im not decided on a color yet, black or blue, and I think I want it to be flat, or at least some sort of dulled look.

Can anyone give me an suggestions about which brand of Rattle Can I should look into. As well as other painting supplies I might need to strip and prime the parts?

If i go blue, I want it to be similair to the new 636 matte blue.

Thanks for any info!

·
Premium Member
3,048 Posts
ive had good results with dupont spray paint.your gonna need to scuff the paint you have on there to get the new paint to stick.i would also use primer.you do not need to strip the old paint off.from my understanding the 06 blue is the same exact color as the 05 it just has a matte or low gloss clear on top whereas the 05 has a high gloss clear on top.im not sure how easy it would be to find the low gloss clear in spray paint.hope i helped some.

·
Registered
563 Posts
Rattle can is usually not recommended, but if that's the way you want to go here's some advice.

Buy more paint than you need.

Spray in quick bursts back and forth. Don't "tag" the bike. You want the paint to adhere evenly and you don't want any of it to run.

Do several coats, don't worry about coverage for the first few. Remember, you don't want excess paint to run of you will have to wipe it off and start ALL OVER.

Tape off EVERYTHING. You wouldn't believe where paint can go.