Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm no technical expert but I do know not to go by the marks on the swing arm. It sounds to me that you may have a big tight spot on your chain. If this is the case no amount of adjustment will cure it, only a new chain. This is where the chain has streached in an un-even way (probably from the previous owner if it was tight when you got it).

Remember to check to tension with the bike sitting normally (not on a paddock stand) and at the tightest spot on the chain.

Hope this helps,

Hugh.

·
Registered
90 Posts
If there was a tight spot on the chain, wouldn't you be able to pick it when free spinning the rear wheeel?

I've had it on a paddock stand and spun the wheel. There is one point where there is a tiny bit of resistance, but I can't see how that would make the current racket my bike is making. The chain makes absolutely no sound when you spin the wheel freely.

I really don't want to go and get a new chain as the bike has only done 3,500 miles and the chain should still be ok, shouldn't it?

Next step is removing the chain for a good clean, lube and thorough checkover. Or am I wasting my time?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No, it does not sound like a tight spot, you would pick it up on the paddock stand, so don't go and but a new chain.

Obvious questions: -

Is the chain well lubed
Are there teeth worn on the front sprocket (or rear)
Do you feel vibration through the pegs
Is there a dry link on the chain that causes a kink

I have a J2 with 5500 miles and we have to look after our chains here in Scotland coz of the salt on the roads put down during the winter. My chain is in good shape, but past bikes that have seen more of winter conditions have not been so clever.