Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey I am definantly getting a new exhaust ASAP but i have a few questions...

1.) will a slip on exhaust cause the fuel injection light to come on or does it have to be a full system to cause that? (i just found a "light fix kit" on indysuperbikes and it says a fuel injection light or some sh*t will come on without it when u replace the exhaust on the 636)

2.) if I gut the cat out will it cause any lights or anything to come on and will i need a power commander?

3.) is a full race exhaust basically a gutted out stock exhaust and maybe a little lighter with a slip on added to it????

Im thinking if i just do the cat mod and gut it out then get a slip on it will act similar to a full race exhaust, please correct me if im wrong cause im new to all this. 0

thanks to everybody who posts!:D

·
Registered
3,560 Posts
Any aftermarket exhaust eliminates the butterfly valve located in the stock exhaust, but all(or mostly all) major manufacturers include an FI light fix, so there isn't anything to be worried about. The FI fix is just a metal piece that attaches to the servo motor to trick the ECU to think it's still there.

·
Registered
859 Posts
Alright, I've been searching and all the other posts i've seen about the FI light were form 05-06 owners. tdahle is the first 03 owner to post. So, do i have to worry about this on my 03 636? And, does the Akra Evo system come with the fix? I just ordered my akra last night.

·
Registered
1,436 Posts
Maybe you should do some research on your bike first. the 03/04 636/RR do not have a exhaust valve in the system. No need for a Fi fix or to worry about one.

The full system on a 03 if it uses a Ti header will save you some weight and will be worth maybe 2rwhp over a slip on system using the stock header. When you replace the stock slip on the cat will be gone as it is located in the slip on and not in the header like the 05/06 bikes.