Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
835 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hola amigo's, just picked up a 2007 ZX6R race bike. It's in transit from New York and should be here in a week or so.
I started riding last May, 2010 and very quickly transitioned to only track riding after insurance quotes for my 1st bike, 89 GSXR 1100 were astronomical...$3000 +/-
I rode the GSXR on track for the 1st time in July 2010 and it was a big pig, lapping Willow Springs @ 2:05. I then picked up a 98 GSXR 750 and got a little quicker 1:50's and it's now in pieces (parting out/boxed up & ready for shipping) I also picked up a 2001 Aprilia Mille R ex-AMA race bike and I can't see myself parting with it....unless I royally screw it up in a crash :(
With the Aprilia & a total of 16-18 track day's since last July I've run a fastest 1:39 @ Big Willow.
Still scared shitless of a huge high-side, had one low-side on the Aprilia @ Street's of Willow, May 2nd 2011.
Looking forward to riding this ZX6R, it's nicely put together. Owner built to get involved in racing but that never panned out. Leo Vince Factory system, Penske shock, GPR V4, safety wired and only 254 miles. Clear title & spare OEM part's.
I'm a little guy 5'6" & 165lb's so hopefully the ZX6 will suit me better than the bigger, heavier Aprilia.
I'd be interested in you're thought's & ideas on the bike and suggestions to maximize performance. I will switch out the stock battery for Shorei or similar & will give some thought to Bazzaz management/shifter options.
I'm gonna get my racing license this year & compete as novice @ WSMC/Wera West. I won't win anything but will enjoy the thrill of competition.
1st photo has weak attempt at removing decal's via iphoto.

Attachments

·
Registered
835 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·