Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding for a few years now but hardly race. As some of you know, I have a 98 9R with about 9k miles on the tach as we speak. I went out for a cruise with my friends which all got newer honda 600 RRs. We got to a straigh and long road and one of my friends ( 03 600 rr with 5500 miles) and I went at it. At about 165 mph and 13k rpms - 4th gear, my bike started to bog down and loosing power. I had it at WOT. As I let go of the thottle a bit, the bike picked up again. I have a full Muzzy exhaust system with everything else stock (I think- I bought it like that).

For those of you that run, am I not supposed to WOT a bike? or will a K&N air filter fix this problem? Let me know what you guys think because I can't believe that a 600cc was able to walk on me at that speed because of that problem.

Thank you,

Maurice.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Originally posted by jimzx9r
Well duh, you need to shift to 5th homey.
Its not a shift thing - It felt different. I will go ahead and order a K&N air filter to see if it helps.

PS: Here is a picture of the bike - I took it a few minutes ago.

·
Registered
262 Posts
You might want to research a little about the bike you own and figure out the rev limit. You were on the limiter, shift to the next gear.

·
Registered
52 Posts
park it and start driving a cage. you've got no business on a bike.

at 13k your bike has hit the rev limiter. that red area at 12k? thats were you should've shifted. shifting would have helped. a rider on the bike who wouldn't have let a 600 keep up at that speed would have helped a lot more. theres no sense in ordering an K&N. the bike needs a competant rider.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·