Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2013 zx6 in its running hot engine temp was about 230-240 while riding on the interstate at 70-80 mph, weather temps was about 60-70. The fan didn't kick on so I held the clutch in gave it a few revs and temp drop to 220- 230. Just need some help with this because I'm new to riding in not sure it that's a normal thing or not.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes the engine temp light was on. I rode the bike this morning around 7am in now the High temp was blinking so I pulled over to let it cool off and this time I looj at the fan which it was running

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I check the reserve tank level which look like tap or distilled water and it is way below low the low mark as well. I just brought some 50/50 mix and was going to add it. The only thing is I'm not sure if the entire coolant system is just tap or distilled, so I was thinking about during a complete flush just to be on the safe side. Any idea how much that will cost or should I just add the 50/50 in do a test run to see if the bike get hot afterwards

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Added some 50/50 coolant. Now temps maintain at 195- 210 while riding, but once stop temp climbs to 220-230 again. In the coolent is brownish color, so I think its old and need a complete coolant flush.

·
Registered
230 Posts
how many miles on the bike? buy new or used? and if you continue to have heating issues I would check all of the coolant lines for a leak. make sure its all sealed and then add Engine ICE. I hear I keeps it down about another 10 degrees.

·
Registered
19 Posts
how many miles on the bike? buy new or used? and if you continue to have heating issues I would check all of the coolant lines for a leak. make sure its all sealed and then add Engine ICE. I hear I keeps it down about another 10 degrees.