Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just an FYI post. I was having a problem where my bike wouldn't rev past 4000 rpms. I checked all the vacume lines first and they were fine. Then I drained the gas and replaced with fresh petro. No change. Next I replaced the fuel filter(16bux from kawi dealer, ouch!) Well the bike then would rev to only 8000. Right then I new I was going to have to clean the carbs out. Well I am a landscaper and work 60 hours a week and didn't feel like doing the work. I have had good luck in the past with seafoam in my trucks so I decided to give it a try. The can only cost 8 bux. Despite what the kawi stealer told me it absolutly worked like a charm.

I poured 1/3 of the can in a cup and let the fuel filter line suck it up. I poured another 1/3 of the can in the tank, and poured the last 1/3 devided equally down each of the 4 carbs. I let it run for a few minutes and shut it off for 5. When I started it back up it smoked like all hell for a few more minutes but it reved all the way to redline. I took it out for a ride and it still had a slight off idle hesitation for a few miles but went away. I could not be more happy with SEAFOAM and I just thought I would share my experiance to mabey help others.

I still plan on pulling the carbs and throughly cleaning them this winter when I have more time but Instead of spending my only free time of the week cleaning out all 4 carbs I got to flog the shizzle out of my bike instead:D

·
Registered
164 Posts