Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding sport bikes for more than 14 years, I had put in 5,000 miles on the bike this summer, I had been down only once when somebody decided to stop in front of me in the middle of the road for no apparent reason and lowsided the bike, but that was years ago...
it had been a while since I went through that moment where you know you're going down, and that's never a good moment.

'went over the bars last night, at about 80mph....
I'm starting to feel the pain just now in my left wrist...
I have a few rashes in my fingers for wearing gloves with no finger protection... they were torn to shit by the way, my tourmaster draft jacket held pretty good, it's going directly to the trash can though. my helmet had its share of scratches from the pavement, not too bad but that's gotta go too, looking at my jacket, gloves and helmet I can just imagine what it would be like to go down not wearing them. that woulda sucked big time. my riding buddies can't believe I didn't sustain any more injuries, I jumped back on my feet to go pick up the bike... oh my bike! it wasn't that bad really, I'm lucky I guess, broken right clip on but the front brake is un-touched. broken stator cover, and rashed-up right fairings and tail. that's weird, right? even though the stator cover broke, the left fairings are clean.
not going through insurance company, I'll fix it up myself.

The Error... plain and simple? I didn't ride my own bike. the guy in front of me took the curve waaay too wide and I thought he was going to go off the road and that distract me for a split second and you know that's all it takes.