Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been riding for about 1 1/2 years and my bike is my primary/only mode of transportation. I was just wondering how everyone goes about shifting up gears. Or I should say what technique you use. I find that when I'm not trying to get up to speed quickly that just kicking up the lever will result in a smooth shift. The same doesn't apply for me when I'm pressed for time. So what I do when I quickly want to get up to speed is I force the throttle position back to close at the same time as pulling the clutch, shifting up and returning the throttle to the position I had it before the shift. When I do this method the shift is smooth and I have no complaints. I just wanted some other riders opinions. I don't ride with anyone despite my riding everyday so I've got nobody else for a critique.

·
Registered
289 Posts
yea i do the exact same thing as you...sometimes i feel like accelerating hard, othertimes, not so much, it just depends, but for fast shifting i don't pull the clutch in far, just enough to disengage, i only use on finger.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Well you really don't need too clutch in every up shift. just twicth back the throttle just ever so slightly in mean 1-3 mm. Just enough too back off the gas then lift up the lever and it well slide in place(smooth and qiuck short shifting).. Its good for the tranny. Down shifts well get smoother, but u need too do this. Ok it well not harm the bike. If its hard gearing back off the gas alittle more 1-4 mm. If you upset the bike before it well fix it.. These bike are very forgiving. Down shift the same way 1-4 mm back off but use the clutch. After a wial u may not need the clutch for that ethier.. Ok try it....
Back too the shifting if you short shift the bike and thats what its designd for.. and even some times you may not notice that u are going it..

·
Registered
2,217 Posts