Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so I got into a minor accident but screwed up the bike bad enough... basically I cracked the (left side) stator cover on my zx-6r 06. The oil spilled out. I obviously need to replace it. I'm new to the bike game but am pretty handy with cars so I'm thinking of just buying the part and replacing it myself. Anyone have any advice. I asked a local shop and they told me hopefully a coil in the generator hasnt gotten messed up. But if not it should just be a simple off and on job. Then add oil and I should be good to go... any help would be appreciated for this newb. Thanks.

heres a pic of the damage.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Fix it yourself. I was gonna fix mine but they were just scratched not leaking. I am not a mechanic, but I have done all the maintence on my bike. Except for the free oil changes :D Just make sure you get all what you need to repair it from the dealer and you will be fine. If the coil in the generator was messed up you will know. It would be hard to start the bike. I would just invest in some of the these after your done.
http://www.ermaxuk.co.uk/pages3/dbc.php?bikecode=188&product=456

Im gonna purchase these instead of New clutch and stator cover. They are nice, wonder if they are made in carbon fiber by somebody else?

·
Registered
314 Posts
Replace it. The only "heads Up" I have for you is that the stator itself is mounted to the cover by some TORX head screws and you'll need the appropriate tool for that. Its on there real tight AND with thread locking compound A.K.A "locktite" (the RED one too). Atleast that how it was on my 03 but Im sure its the same for the 05-06.

·
Registered
53 Posts