Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
They are useless.
I've been riding for nearly 8 years and never used one until 3 months ago I decided to put a Ohlins steering damper, First thing I notice was that even on the lowest setting when I chucked the bike into a (Lets say a left corner) the damper want to push the bike to the right. And stunting was a nightmare seriously it was harder to drift, donuts and rolling burnouts. So after a month fiddling with other things (As I did not think the damper would cause this) I noticed the damper was leaking so after taking it off and shipping back to ohlins the bike was acting the same as before I put it on.

·
That Fighter Guy
15,175 Posts
Well a steering damper isn't designed for the application your bike serves (stunting and such). It's best suited for advanced track use and handy on really bad roads.

It's not a necessity in my opinion for everyday street riding.

·
Premium Member
15,937 Posts
I don't want to upset you, but if you knew what they were for and what kind to buy then you wouldn't be so upset about the outcome you had. Although a leaking steering damper sure sucks.

BTW Jason Britton more than likely has a GPR Steering Damper (Steering Stabilizer) on his bike since he's sponsored by GPR. .

Stunt Action Shots, GPR Stabilizer

Maybe you should get a GPR?

:dunno:

·
Steve Mcqueen Wannabe!
36,924 Posts
Great thread lol

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I don't want to upset you, but if you knew what they were for and what kind to buy then you wouldn't be so upset about the outcome you had. Although a leaking steering damper sure sucks.

BTW Jason Britton more than likely has a GPR Steering Damper (Steering Stabilizer) on his bike since he's sponsored by GPR. .

Stunt Action Shots, GPR Stabilizer

Maybe you should get a GPR?

:dunno: