Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
you want to ease onto the front break to get the weight on the frint tire, then you can get on it harder to bring the back wheel up, if your going to come to a stop before you set it down it helps to tap the rear break.

·
Registered
164 Posts
well, my first stoppie was due to somebody pulling out in front of me while i was doing about 80 but i figured out the trick then. after that i have only done a few as i prefer to do wheelies more, but im still a novice at both for sure. i like to do them at lower speeds because i feel more comfortable but you still need to have enough speed to be carrying momentum and so that you dont come to a complete stop too soon. if you are going too slow what happens is you basically stop the bike before you can bring up the rear. you just need to start practicing at what speed you feel comfortable at and if you find yourself stopping before you get the rear up then next time do it a little faster.another thing to definately keep in mind is what 636fool said that you need to ease on the brake first to transfer the weight onto the front wheel before you start getting on the brakes hard. that will avoid locking up the front tire because that would be pretty unpleasant. basically what i do is once i have got on the brake enough to get the weight transfer i just keep pulling on the lever until the rear starts to come up. i have found that for me it is easier to balance a stoppie than a wheelie but i think that it is mostly psychological. anyhow just like anything else it just takes some practice and before long it becomes natural to know how to do it.

·
Registered
785 Posts
Originally posted by ZX6R_rider
What speeds are most suitable for a novice?
come in at about 30 mph. that should give you the momentum to roll a little bit, but it's not dangerously fast.

·
Registered
47 Posts