Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi peeps..

I just had a question. What would happen if you were to store your bike over winter by just draining the old engine oil, and not replacing it till next year? Personally I think it would be harmful for the engine because some of the left over oil which is still dirty will cause the engine some damage. Has anyone done this before?

·
Registered
1,966 Posts
I wouldn't do that either. I'm not a mechanic, but I know the motor is not supposed to be without engine oil for very long. The most amount of time I ever let mine go without oil (not running I mean) was overnight. Definitely don't do that.

·
Registered
94 Posts
I've searched for "Winter Storage" on this site and found several suggestions. I just wish I knew which one was correct.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I know how to properly store both my bikes, and I am storing a buddy's bike away too, just that I was wondering if anyone had done that. Come to think of it, no oil in the engine over the winter is a VERY bad idea. But what problems are you having? What are you not to sure of? I'll try to help you out.

·
Registered
344 Posts
Never heard of storing a bike without oil. The owners manual says to change the oil right before you store the bike.

I personally think its better to start and run the bike for 20 minutes every other week than to store it.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Oil will protect the engine from moisture and rust. Do not store the bike without oil -- not a good idea. If you're going to run your bike every other week instead of storing it (which personally, I don't recommend), be sure to run it long enough that all moisture in your system is evaporated. This would be after the fan cuts in for the SECOND time.

·
Registered
344 Posts