Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone. I'm thinking about upgrading my suspension in the near future. I'm choosing between getting an Ohlins shock, or getting Race Tech (or some other company) to replace the valves and springs on my forks and shock.

Which do you think would be better for a 636, and why? Pls. note that I'm still a newbie (getting only about 2:24 on the California Speedway AMA track [:I] -- I do plan to sign up with STAR school in November). (If it's of any relevance, I weigh around 160 lbs naked, and the only "performance" mod to my bike is the Scotts steering damper)

FYI, the cost is similar:
Ohlins shock @ Dan Kyle = 929

Race tech total = 935
Race Tech shock customization = 380
100 labor, 160 gold valve kit, 120 springs
Race Tech fork customization = 555
135 labor, 160 gold valve kit, 150 fork rebound gold valve, 110 springs

Thanks in advance! (And if Race Tech is not the way to go, let me know, thanks!)

·
Registered
1,471 Posts
I cannot recommend Race Tech. They worked on the forks on my old bike, and they were harsher over bumps after the work.

The Ohlins shock gives much better feel and bump absorption than the stock shock. I do not suggest working on the stock shock. You can ride the better Ohlins shock and then sell it, spending little more than you would for shock work.

For less coin, you can also have Ohlins valving installed in the forks. But at 160 lb (we weigh the same), the Ohlins shock made a bigger difference than the fork work.

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
If you're gonna get an Ohlins give my man Dan at www.kyleusa.com a shout and he'll put the proper spring on that shock without charging you extra. Nevermind the fact that he's got some of the best prices around, I'd pay a few extra bucks for the service any day, but Dan does both - fair prices and GREAT service.