Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So im a hardcore noob and I bought these track tires from a guy that said the 180's would fit on my zx6r, so i got them put on. I rode with them for about 100km and i just found out that the chain is rubbing against my tire bc i can hear a noise and also i see the burnt marks on the side of the tire. My question is, can my mechanic somehow move the sprocket and chain a couple of mm away from the tire?? If yes what do i need to buy? or should i just find smaller tires and its totally not worth for me to keep these on?

·
Registered
135 Posts
They are the right sized tire, something is not lined up maybe the spacers are wrong way round.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I just checked and my tires are 180/60/17, as for the chain adjustment i dnt know it was the mechanic that adjusted my chain, i just changed the chain and sprocket like 1 month ago.

·
Registered
135 Posts
what year is your bike

·
Registered
160 Posts
Something can't be aligned right, because obviously that shouldn't happen. A 180 tire is the correct size for that year, so something is off. Unless your chain is ridiculously loose, there is no way it will swing over and bump against your tire. Just a visual at my bike, it looks like there is about 1/2 inch between the chain and tire.

·
Registered
2,378 Posts
Sounds like whoever had the wheel off last switched up the spacers

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
ya there is about half an inch between the tire and the chain, and the chain is not loose, i checked the slack and its freaken tight like an 18 yr old girl. So any ideas what is rubbing against the tire??

·
Powerhungry
38,189 Posts
ya there is about half an inch between the tire and the chain, and the chain is not loose, i checked the slack and its freaken tight like an 18 yr old girl. So any ideas what is rubbing against the tire??
chain is too tight!