Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding motorcycles for the last 18 years, and have recently been riding sportbikes. My problems seem to come from my size-6'1" 270 LBS and my appetitie for extreme speed. I find most middleweight sportbikes to be a bit cramped and slow. The Kawa is one of the only bikes I have not ridden. I prefer the 360 LB weight range and am reluctant to go to the Litre bikes because of insurance and other costs. My question: Does anybody here (who is my size or bigger) get along well with the ZX6R? Will it pull me well? Will it power-wheelie? I really like the look of the 636 and hope to get some advice.

SVrider

·
Registered
768 Posts
I've seen some big men on little bikes.

Yes it will wheelie. The nice thing about being heavier is you can move more weight to control the bike. So if you want to wheelie just lean back some and it will help it more than me leaning back.

Dan...comfortable enough with his manhood to ride a 600.

·
Registered
4,295 Posts
5'11" 225lbs. No problems for me. After a while, the bike starts to feel small, but they all do once you get used to them.

-gary
'02 6R

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I want to thank all of you for your help. What I am hearing is that these bikes can handle the larger riders and just take some getting used to. I felt that way on the SV and CBR. Another good point was made by Gary, who stated that after one gets used to it, the bike will feel small. I think that is true. Also, after a while one gets used to the speed and they feel slower. I just want to make sure I do not get into something that I will outgrow too quickly. Any other comments are welcome.

Keep the rubber side down

SVrider

·
Registered
3,728 Posts
i can power wheelie my 02 zx6r in first gear..

I'm 5'11" about 220 lbs