Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone or does anyone tow a small trailer with your bike? I can't seem to find much for sportbikes but a lot for cruisers. I am a Carpenter by trade as well as an HD mechanic but I would like to haul some of my tools by trailer to the jobsite rather than use the car all the time.

There are two routes I can go with as far as hitches are concerned, ridged or pivot. With the ZZR it has a hollow rear axle which you can use round bar through it to have the hitch/trailer assembly pivot here. If going this route the trailer would have to have one rear wheel and lean with the bike.

The other way would be a standard ball rigid mounted to the swingarm to pull regular trailers.

I have to find out about local insurance first before I go ahead and build something but I'm just wondering if anyone has some input or ideas.

·
Registered
28,787 Posts
I really do not like the idea of having anything attached to the back of the bike that can push or pull the back end around. Why do you need to tow a trailer with it?

Keep in mind the handling characteristics of cruisers are very different than sport bikes, and will probably tow a trailer much better than a sport bike.

·
Registered
228 Posts
^^^^That looks more like a baby seat than a trailer.^^^^

Reminds me of when I went to bike week this year at Daytona where a 5 year old was riding on the back of his dads bike. Just crazy to me

·
Registered
3,741 Posts
Pulling a trailer is hard on motorcycles, even cruisers. If its light enough that you can muscle the wheels off the ground when its on the hitch, then most cruisers can take it OK but it still adds noticeable wear. Pulling anything with any remote weight I wouldn't recommend doing that with anything other then a goldwing frankly. I personally wont pull a trailer at all myself.