Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to motorcycles and have few people to bother for a bit if information. I've read a bit online, but opinions are a bit dividend when it comes to second hand motorcycles, so I thought I'd give you all a shot ;).

At the moment, I've just gotten my licence and about to check out a bike with 57k kilometers on the clock. It's from 2016 and used as a learner's bike at a local riding school. If it's well maintenaned I was of a mind to purchase it if it drives well and expect to replace the clutch (plates) in the near future as they've probably been abused by students practising for the special manoeuvres exam.

I was wondering if buying a 2016 Kawasaki with this many kilometers was a good idea as a first motorcycle for about 3000 euros? I've ridden the z650 as a Lessons bike (brand new) and it was stupidly easy to ride and have fun with. This one still looks Great.

I'm now just hoping the miles wouldn't have some unexpected wear or if I should expect some more serious repairs in the near future. So I'd ask of you your honest opinions on risk and some pitfalls when buying a used high mileage bike.

Thanks!

r/motorcycles has referred me to you for a bit more specifics on the reliability of an er6n. Reading through the forum, they should be fine when properly cared for and seeing that they've mostly been used by a driving school maintenance should've been done regularly, right? This is my current thought on the matter. But I'm curious to hear your opinions!

·
Registered
Too many to list
249 Posts
Be sure it's a documented bike , ask for maintenance records , Look carefully to be sure the engine has original bolts / screws in cases , look for gasket sealant ..... Top to bottom tires , spokes , rims , Check everything ...,

·
Registered
441 Posts