Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have a good vid showing how it sounds? Also is the stock can just mild steel or is it SS (304?). Trying to figure out which wire I should I use to weld it back up with and if it's worth the work. I just want something a tad louder.

·
Registered
26 Posts
well, this is what i did. My buddy cut 15 inches off this d&d pipe on his gixxer so i took that, cut my exhaust open, took out the labyrinth of baffles and pipes and welded the guts inside. It was very easy ( im a tig welder by profession), only requiring me to weld the perferated tube with packing around it on aboutn a 30 degree angle from the back to the front. I used stainless rod just because i prefer the way it lays and looks. I would highly recommend trying to get some packing and the perferated tube out of a aftermarket exhaust and putting in in there as you don't want a giant empty space for the exhaust to get all mixxed up in, you want some "flow". There are plently of people who chop their exhaust or just buy a cheap used aftermarket for a zzr or something. The 15" was plenty because theres about 6" of the oval that extendes into the ehaust and i just shaped the perferated tube to match and it works great. SInce i replaed the baffles with the d&d there wasnt much of a weight savings but it was a free and easy way to make my bike sound like a bike, not a sewing machine on steroids lol. ohh yeh, do your self a favor and paint it high temp semi-gloss and grind off the licence plate bracket, if you like the looks of the stocker like i do, itll look tits.

·
Registered
41 Posts
When you took out the baffles and guts and what-not, did it eliminate the servo-flapper thing? Either way, did it change power delivery?

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·