Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the bike world and am realizing that on a bike every pound counts (especially on a 250). I'm wondering what are some ways that I can reduce the weight of an 08 250. I plan on getting an area P exhaust for the weight savings and the sound. I saw in a different post about taking off the rear brake but I wont be doing that.

·
Registered
331 Posts
unless you weight 375lbs then you shouldnt have too much trouble, if your really concerned about weight because of speed maybe you should look at a bike with a higher cc.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
definetely not looking at a higher cc bike, I'm just looking to make the most out of this bike. I'm more interested in doing things that will increase the bike's efficiency and MPG as this is the main reason I bought the bike. I figure if I could drop a few pounds off the bike without compromising safety than I would like to do it.

·
Registered
323 Posts
bicycle

definetely not looking at a higher cc bike, I'm just looking to make the most out of this bike. I'm more interested in doing things that will increase the bike's efficiency and MPG as this is the main reason I bought the bike. I figure if I could drop a few pounds off the bike without compromising safety than I would like to do it.
No Joke .Start riding a bicycles. You will loose weight get stronger learn about drafting and steering. 10 pounds off your body is worth a couple hp coming out of a turn.

·
Registered
443 Posts
I read a post on here about replacing the battery with a smaller type to save some weight. You could search that up.

If you are looking to "to increase the bike efficiency and MPG" then you could consider regearing for lower rpms.