Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to drag racing on the track but not new to riding a bike....... I'm just getting into the drags... My buddy has the same bike but its doin real nice in the 1/4's but i cant seem to launch nice. What should i launch at with my stock 636 with front tiedown and jumper mod? and what rpms should i shift at? I did a 8.22 in 1/8th... embarassing when my buddys pullin low 7's or high 6's but wont tell me what he's doin? please help!

·
Registered
5,773 Posts
i remember when i 1st took my 636 down the track when i bought it last yr i ran a 7.40 in the 1/8 @100mph i thought that was fast till i started seein other 600's run low 7.0 and high 6's, my best is to date is 7.0 with a 1.73 60ft, bike is swb geared -1 +2 with mods done to the bike in my signature, practice is the key like denmah stated to going fast man

·
Registered
138 Posts
I leave at 10.000 rpms. My best 60 is a 1.71, but that was with a bad clutch that I f'ed up trying to clutch up 2nd!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
how do u keep the front wheel down leaving at 10k? My buddy went to do his first burnout and put the rpm at 8k and accidently let out the front brake and he wheelied like a mother and crashed lol........... so yea how do not wheelie the shit outta that thing?

·
Registered
5,773 Posts
its all in the clutch control man, best advice is go out and try slippin the clutch and try feedin more throttle, raise the rpm each pass till u get wheelspin or front end lift, i would say a good rpm to start with is 8k but thats just me, u might have to start lower, but keep at it and u will be cuttin some good 60ft's before u no it

·
Registered
1,660 Posts