Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was at a party last night and i was talking to a kid that had an r6. He said the r6 could beat the 6r no problem. Also he said that kawasaki was cheaply made. I have an 02 and he has an 02. How do they match up to each other if they were both stock?

Wish i wasnt a beginner rider or i would show him 6r can hang[}:)]

·
Registered
2,691 Posts
There's not much between the two bikes, especially in terms of power. A good rider can more than make up for the differences between the two, but as a self-confessed beginner, I wouldn't worry so much about whose bike is 1/10th faster. Just enjoy the fact you've got a great bike and work on gettin' your riding skills down so that next year you'll be able to "hang" with him... Welcome to the board.

·
Registered
4,213 Posts
unless one has mods they should even up. dont know the R6 specs though.

·
Registered
7,145 Posts
Here's the '01 numbers as neither '02 bike had a seperate test. The '02 times should be comparable. (US measurements)

HP | Torque | 1/4 Mile | Wet Weight

Ninja 6r: [email protected],500 / [email protected],250 / [email protected] / 435

Yamaha R6: [email protected],500 / [email protected],000 / [email protected] / 426

And a few other stats.

0-60 | 0-100 | 60-80 Top Gear Roll-on | Best MPG | Tank Range

Ninja 6r: 3.30 / 7.32 / 4.39 / 48 / 154

Yamaha R6: 3.33 / 6.94/ 4.24 / 44 / 148

As you can see the bikes are so close (as are the CBRF4 and the Gix 6 as well) it is almost futile for a everyday street rider to get into an argument of which bike is best. It is a case-by-case basis and user preference. The numbers are so close, are they really worth comparing?

And I can gladly give a list of about 20 reasons why I'd take an '02 6r over an R6.

-Flash

·
Registered
56 Posts