Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a ZX6R and have about 1900 miles on it. I've been riding for about 5 months and feel pretty comfortable/confident on the bike. I have messed around in first gear getting the wheel off the ground, but I still have the fear of tipping over. I was told that first gear is not the gear to do wheelies in. Can anybody tell me how to do a proper wheelie and get over the fear of tipping over? Thanks!

·
Registered
572 Posts
In first gear, spin it up to about 8 grand, back off then on (while tugging on the bars). Most important, keep that right foot resting on the bake brake. If you start passing the balance point just tap the back brake!!! With a bigger back sprocket, 42 or higher, second gear will come up in the same manner and less likley hood of looping. I would stay away from dropping the a tooth in the front, it generates more friction adn HP robbing heat...

I don't touch the clutch.

·
Registered
720 Posts
You should get someone to watch you. It will always feel like you are going higher than usual. You will actually be much lower. It's just a matter of getting used to it. Today I practiced and I got it a little higher. I just kept getting used to the height. Than slowly I would go a little higher. I went up a little more than usual. It scared the shit out of me. But it's all about getting used to it. Just like how you got used to the throttle and the kick the bike gives.

You gota have balls like these to drive a bike!

·
Registered
768 Posts
You'll know when it hits the balance point...it gets light.

Typically first gear is the easist to do power up wheelies, but 2nd is safer for doing clutch wheelies. The faster you go the more correction time you have.

Dan...comfortable enough with his manhood to ride a 600.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Hey there was reading the posts here.