Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i want to learn how to do it but just chicken shit cause is 06 and i am still paying payments on it, just don't want to mess up, all my boyz can do it, but they all ride an older bike...

·
Registered
560 Posts
i personally like the sit down, but youll get both answers. standups feel somewhat out of control to me, i think its cause im tall at 6'3", so i have to hunch over to get the bars.

most importantly, get comfortable with your bike before try stuff. if youre not comfy riding, and know the machine pretty well, it WILL get away from you. start slow and work your way up. wear your gear and dont do it around traffic.

·
Registered
204 Posts
I like to sit down because it seems you can keep your balance better and if your feet slip off your not gonna wreck

·
Registered
121 Posts
im still a newb to wheelies so i sit down when i do them. start off by sitting and powering it up. then when u get good at it move to standing clutch ups. i think when most people wreck doing wheelies they try clutching it up off the bat.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Originally posted by SwiftNinja
im still a newb to wheelies so i sit down when i do them. start off by sitting and powering it up. then when u get good at it move to standing clutch ups. i think when most people wreck doing wheelies they try clutching it up off the bat.
i have to disagree... i think clutch wheelies are the safest way to learn, as the front comes up smoothly and more controled. Power wheelies come up rather violently.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Originally posted by pcracks25

i have to disagree... i think clutch wheelies are the safest way to learn, as the front comes up smoothly and more controled. Power wheelies come up rather violently.
i have to agree that clutch wheelies are easier
for the same reason stated above: they are MUCH easier to control

·
Premium Member
3,573 Posts