Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

ZX-6R for a commuter

20K views 59 replies 32 participants last post by  Zephyr 
#1 ·
Would you nay/say the zx-6 is a good commuter bike to and from work about 50 miles...I have not riden one but wanted to know if the seating was to extreme for an every day bike to ride to work with or is it mostly a track bike?

#2 ·
I see from your sig that you've got the same bike I do… a newgen Ninjette.

I have no direct experience with supersports, but I have the same question and I figured out a great way to find out for not a lot of money… a couple of hundred bucks or so, which is way less than you'd lose if you bought a ZX-6 and had to resell it because you concluded that it's the wrong bike.

It's a fairly simple and inexpensive matter to give your 250R more sportbike-like ergonomics by fitting it with rearset adapter plates and clip-ons. I've done it to mine and the bike feels very different from stock.

The beauty part is, I can put it back to stock if I ever feel like it. And I haven't had to go and buy a bike just to see if I like the ergos of a supersport.

Both are available from Shinto.

I only installed the clip-ons a week or so ago and have less than a hundred miles riding them, so I won't comment on long-term comfort. I did notice immediately that it's a more active experience… you're using more of your body muscles. When you're leaned forward like that you're riding more like a jockey rides a racehorse.

I've also jetted the bike and put on a full exhaust. It's no supersport to be sure, but it's a fantastic commuter bike.

#3 ·
I ride my 06 ZZR600 60 miles one way to work all the time. If it's not raining, I'm riding. My bike is a bit more comfortable than the newer ZX-6R's, but I did the same commute on my 05 GSXR1000 without any problems.

#9 ·