Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Just wondering, after how many miles do you guys have to switch it to reserve after having a full tank? For some reason, I go about 120 miles (about 2.5 galons of gas), and then I have to flip it to reserve, otherwise the fuel is cut off. So the reserve is about 2.3 more galons? That's not very practical since the full tank is about 4.8 galons.
Just wondering if everyone's got the same issue.

Thanks.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I go between 180-190 miles before hitting reserve. I've never run reserve very long (find a gas station right away), so I can't give you an estimate on how much that is. When I hit reserve and fill up, I'm typically buying 36-3.8 gallons of gas which means I have 0.8-1.0 gallons left.

·
Registered
239 Posts
Depends on your driving style.

I'm a more agressive driver in the city. I consistantly get anywhere from 140-145 miles before hitting reserve. When I fill up, it's about 3.6 - 3.7 gallons.

Highway riding. I get about 180 miles before hitting reserve and filling up with 3.6-3.7 gallons. I normally ride 80 plus on the highway.

·
Registered
648 Posts
I ran out of gas twice last week but both times I had the uncanny luck to drift into the gas station. The first time it said 215 miles. 2nd time was 193 miles. I was riding with my buddy and my bike was spitting and sputtering and i point to my tank and he says "yeah i need gas too." and I said "No i need gas RIGHT NOW" it was pretty funny as i was only 100 yards away from a gas station and just drifted it in. My fuel knob fell off awhile ago and it was set to "on" but i took the tank off a few weeks ago and when I put it back on i turned it the wrong way to "reserve" I usually fill up around 150-170 miles.

·
Registered
1,009 Posts